Section H Unisa Music Scholarship Competition 2019

Prizewinners and Adjudicators



Back Itr: Clara Lubbe, Louis Nel, James Paradza, Natanja Uys Front, Itr Prof. Theo van Wyk, Veronika Meyer, Prof. Karendra Devroop, Prof. Malcolm Nay, Dr Clorinda Panebianco, Sean Adams

Scholarships and prizes

Two Unisa South African Music Scholarships – winner R16 600 and runner-up R13 000, made available by the Directorate Music.

Winner: Louis Nel (Piano), Pretoria Teacher: Joseph Stanford

Runner-up: Clara Lubbe (Saxophone), Pretoria Teacher: Ceri Moelwyn-Hughes

Two Du Toit-Van Tonder Music Scholarships of R9 000 each, funded by the interest on a bequest by Cecil Henry du Toit (1937-1985) and have been awarded annually since 1986.

Winners:

James Paradza (Singing), Pretoria Teacher: Hanli Stapela
Natanya Uys (Violin), Cape Town Teacher: Elzaan Coetzee

SAMRO/Vladimir Viardo Piano Scholarship R13 000, sponsored by the South African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO) Foundation is awarded to the best piano competitor under the age of 20.

Winner: Louis Nel (Piano), Pretoria Teacher: Joseph Stanford

SAMRO Prize of R13 000, sponsored by SAMRO is awarded for the best performance of a South African composition and has been awarded since 1994.

Winner: Louis Nel (Piano), Pretoria Teacher: Joseph Stanford

Johanna van der Spuy Memorial Prize (1906-2010) of R3 000 for the best performance of a Romantic work.

Winner: Clara Lubbe (Saxophone), Pretoria Teacher: Ceri Moelwyn-Hughes

Mimi Coertse Prize of R2 000 for the best rendition of a South African Art Song. This prize is sponsored by Mimi Coertse.

Winner: James Paradza (Singing), Pretoria Teacher: Hanli Stapela

SAMRO/Unisa/Deon van der Walt Vocal Scholarship of R4 000, established from the box office income of a Gala Concert given by the late Deon van der Walt, which was jointly organised by SAMRO and Unisa and held at the State Theatre in 1997. This scholarship is awarded to the best grade 8 singing candidate.

Winner: James Paradza (Singing), Pretoria Teacher: Hanli Stapela

Participants of the Unisa South African Scholarship Competition 2019



Back, Itr: Laura Bailie (Piano, Cape Town), Kdan Floris (Organ, Riversdale), James Paradza (Singing, Pretoria), Mikyle Adams (Organ, Cape Town), Theresa van der Merwe (Piano, Cape Town), Renée Ferreira (Recorder, Bloemfontein)

Front, Itr: Carike Goede (Piano, Pretoria), Karlin Kock (Piano, Krugersdorp), Clara Lubbe (Saxophone, Pretoria), Kate Watson (Piano, Pretoria), Thomas Fowler (Piano, Cape Town), Jaime Fowler (Piano, Cape Town), Ying-Shan Tseng (Singing and Piano, Worcester), Natanja Uys (Violin, Cape Town), Louis Nel (Piano, Pretoria)

Absent from photo: Lusanti Brundyn (Violin, White River)